Thanksgiving 2013

Happy Friday, everyone!

How was your Thanksgiving? I had a wonderful day- let’s recap, shall we?Thanksgiving 2013

Turkey Trot~

20131128_103358

My Dad, Jake, and I arrived in Dana Point at around 8:30am to get warmed up and wait at the front of the line for the 5K.

Once we got there, someone who I didn’t think was going to be able to make it surprised me…

20131128_083732

KEVIN CAME!!!! Oh my gosh, guys, he gets boyfriend of the year award. Not only was he up late picking up his family from the Philippines. BUT- he drove all the way from Diamond Bar down to Dana Point at 6AM[!!!!] just to cheer me on! I was so happy to see him. I was really nervous about the whole PRing thing, and it was SO awesome to get a hug from my best friend/love of my life/favorite person in the whole world before the race started.

Race Results

Unfortunately, the race was not my best. My PR is 25:51 and I missed that by about 30sec. GRR!!! I felt strong for the first mile, and ran it with Jake. But then I just kept doubting myself and ended up running the last 2 miles with a much slower pace. I was bummed because I wanted to prove to myself that I could run strong yesterday, and I don’t really feel like I did. But, it did give me motivation to train hard and strong for my half marathon coming up in 7 weeks.

After the race, we met up with Emily and Brian [who were our designated cheer leaders- thanks guys!] at Denny’s for our annual breakfast feast…

20131128_105255

… I had a lot of eggs.

Thanksgiving Dinner~

20131128_134501

After we got cleaned up, we went to Brian’s house for Thanksgiving. He had his whole family over from AZ and we were excited to meet our future extended family! Also- I’m super happy Emily is marrying a weirdo because it makes life more interesting that way. Smile

IMG_20131128_140845

Turkey, veggies, yams, and stuffing!!!

20131128_160124

Post-Turkey football game! Emily, Jake and I opted not to play. Jake and I were super tired from the race and Emily just hates football, so we watched instead…

1465140_10152411221568219_142462358_n

…& play on the swings.

After football, we came back to eat dessert and watch football. This was a little too much football for one day, but I rolled with it. Winking smile [missing baseball season]

index

And we ended the night at the movie theaters. We saw Delivery Man and it was pretty good! I am not usually a Vince Vaughn fan, but this movie was really touching and funny.

Plans for Today~

I have some fun fun things planned for the day…

  • Laundry
  • Cleaning the Kitchen
  • Going to the gym

And non of which involved Black Friday Shopping~

Are you Black Friday Shopping? I tried it one year… it did not go well. You see, I am SO not a night person. And, every Thanksgiving, I run the Turkey Trot super early in the morning. These 2 factors make me turn into what my friends like to call- Grumpy Kaylie…

402152_10150687464588219_502074418_n

Have a great day everyone!

Question.

  • What did you do for Thanksgiving?
  • How do you come back from a bad race?

I usually come back from vengeance. I make a training plan and get super motivated to improve my time in the next race.

See ya~ Kay

About Kaylie @ FitnessMovesYou

I live for healthy living. It is my whole being and I believe a desire to live a healthier life lies within all of us. My goal is to educate in the most understanding way possible, and cater to a world full of busy bodies, unsettled minds, and tainted souls. This blog is not a diet regimen, nor will it guarantee weight loss. It is simply to gather information into one convenient place. It is a tool meant to be shared with the world. What you choose to do with it is up to you. Read, apply, disregard, or use. But, above all, enjoy!

Posted on November 29, 2013, in Holidays, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 427 other followers

