Foodie Pen Pals & A VLOG- 5 Tips To Staying Healthy On Vacation

This month, I decided to participate in Foodie Penpals- something that I’ve wanted to do for awhile now! I don’t know why the heck I didn’t sign up like 13 months ago because, seriously, this was such a fun experience.

The lovely Lindsay hosts Foodie Pen Pals every month. It’s a program where she pairs 2 people up to exchange fun, health [or not-so-healthy :)] foods! It’s basically like having a pen pal but, instead of sending letters, you send food. Bottom line- you get food and you make a friend. It’s awesome!

My “pal” was Melanie, and I loved loved loved my goodies! She put a lot of thought into every step of the whole process. Plus, she was very helpful to me- the newbie!- in answering any questions that I had.
She asked me about my diet and I told her I ate Paleo [so no grains/rice/oats]. BUT- I did tell her that I like a little bit of sweets and my sweet tooth was huge, so I wouldn’t hate getting chocolate! :)

I got…

  • Almonds- My fav!!!!
  • Almond Butter- Always good. Especially the individual packages because I can keep them in my car and eat them straight like a weirdo
  • Sunflower Seeds- I haven’t had these in forever and was actually really excited to see them!
  • Crasins- I use these all the time for my breakfast breads and I was out so these made me happy!
  • Toffifay- I have never tried these before but I LOVED THEM! I’m pretty sure me and Kevin finished these bad boys in 2 days. No joke. They taste like Ferrerro Roche, but are really smooth and delicious!

I’m definitely going to do this next month- it’s so much fun!

I’m Going to Vegas~

So today I’m leaving for Vegas for the weekend. Fortunately, it will be a short trip, but I really hate going on vacation because it ruins my diet. I eat crap on the drive/plan ride there, eat way too many sweets and crap food while I’m there, and I don’t work out.

BUT- this trip will be different. It will be a test for myself to stay as healthy as possible and exercise each day we are there on this trip. I know, I know- it’s Vegas and working out and eating healthy seems illegal. But, seeing as there are 4 gyms on the strip [not including the hotel gym], I think I am meant to get in some great workouts on this trip.

I also want to eat healthy! Aside from Saturday’s lunch at my favorite restaurant EVER and taste-testing different Cokes at the Coke Factory, I’m going to try to prep my food and eat healthy, rather than eat out every meal. [btw- my fav restaurant has great food AND great chocolate so I'm totally spurlging and eating 2million calories worth of chocolate... I'll recap for you guys for sure!]

Food Prepping for Vacations~

Well I hope you guys have a lovely weekend! I will be sure to recap the trip when I get back. But I won’t be back to the blogging world til Monday. Until then, I’ll WILL be on Instagram and Facebook all weekend, so be sure to say hi!!!

Connect with Fitness Moves You!

Have a great weekend!

Question.

  • Do you eat healthy on vacations?
  • What is your favorite healthy meal to prep?

See ya~Kay

About Kaylie @ FitnessMovesYou

I live for healthy living. It is my whole being and I believe a desire to live a healthier life lies within all of us. My goal is to educate in the most understanding way possible, and cater to a world full of busy bodies, unsettled minds, and tainted souls. This blog is not a diet regimen, nor will it guarantee weight loss. It is simply to gather information into one convenient place. It is a tool meant to be shared with the world. What you choose to do with it is up to you. Read, apply, disregard, or use. But, above all, enjoy!

Posted on January 31, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Have fun in Vegas! Making a conscious effort to remain healthy on vacation always helps. If you go in it saying you are going to eat whatever you want and not workout, that’s what happens. Changing your mindset makes all the difference!

  2. I actually typically eat pretty healthy for the most part on vacation… or should I say, I do now. I used to go crazy (try all the things was my motto) but now I pick and choose the things I want to try and balance them out with lots of lean protein and veggies!

  3. Dude i went to Vegas for work back in October and I started off great – I ran along the strip and worked out but toward the end of the trip, I fell victim to the temptations. My logic is if it only happens every once in a while, I’ll live. :) Hope you had fun! Can’t wait to read about it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 430 other followers

